Race day and Snake Pit schedule for the Indianapolis 500


Fans mill about in the plaza under the Pagoda before the Indianapolis 500 auto race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indianapolis, Sunday, May 29, 2022. (AP Photo/AJ Mast)

INDIANAPOLIS — The 107th Running of the Indianapolis 500 is set for Sunday, May 28.

Alex Palou won the pole this year with a record-setting run during qualifying. Rinus VeeKay and Felix Rosenqvist will join him in the front row.

This year’s field includes nine former 500 winners: Helio Castroneves (2001, 2002, 2009, 2021); Scott Dixon (2008); Tony Kanaan (2013); Ryan Hunter-Reay (2014); Alexander Rossi (2016); Takuma Sato (2017, 2020); Will Power (2018); Simon Pagenaud (2019); and Marcus Ericsson (2022).

The green flag is scheduled to drop at 12:45 p.m. Fans can expect to see some of their favorite race day traditions during pre-race ceremonies. Below is a look at the race day and Snake Pit schedules.

Race Day Schedule

Snake Pit Schedule

Combined Race Day and Snake Pit Schedule

  • 6 a.m. to 4 p.m. Gates Open
  • 7 a.m. Snake Pit Venue Opens
  • 8:15 a.m. Valentino Khan (Snake Pit)
  • 8:45 a.m. to 10:19 a.m. Borg Warner Trophy March to the Bricks
  • 9 a.m. to 9:20 a.m. Cars to Pit Lane
  • 9:15 a.m. Jauz (Snake Pit)
  • 10:30 a.m. Cars to Grid on Frontstretch
  • 10:30 a.m. Subtronics (Snake Pit)
  • 11:45 a.m. Break for Pre-Race Ceremonies (Snake Pit)
  • 11:47 a.m. Driver Introductions
  • 12:18 p.m. Invocation
  • 12:24 p.m. National Anthem by Jewel
  • 12:36 p.m. “Back Home Again in Indiana” by Jim Cornelison
  • 12:38 p.m. Command to Start Engines
  • 12:45 p.m. Green Flag Drops on the 107th Running
  • 12:50 p.m. Kaskade (Snake Pit)
  • 2:35 p.m. John Summit (Snake Pit)

Copyright 2023 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.